Happy Valentine’s Day – from southern Ontario

We did a show for the Norfolk County Quilters’ Guild this afternoon in Vittoria Ontario.  Not ViCtoria, like where we’re from, but ViTtoria. It’s a small town near Lake Erie, and we left the warmth of South Carolina to brave the chilly snowy fields of this part of the country.  It’s not nearly as cold as it should be here, and we’ve acclimatized fairly quickly.

I knew it would be a good day when I saw the first gals showing up dressed in red.  They were red-y to party!

This is Terry, Pat, Darlene and I before everyone else arrived. Great boots, eh?

We had about 90 in the audience – lots of visitors, and there was great energy in the room. There were some lovely, intricate quilts floating around the room, and a few very good professional long-armers in the audience.  I knew it would be an interesting day.  One quilt, made by the treasurer Pat, was hanging on the back wall. It took my breath away.  Thai Dupioni silk, Storm at Sea block, but with elements of Cathedral windows, 3-D piecing, beading, and folded outside border, it was a work of art.

Absolutely gorgeous!

Check out the middle block for the 3-D flower.

We were at the guild thanks to Cathy, who had heard my music at the presentation of a quilting play that used some of it several years ago in nearby Waterford.  She was very excited that we had made it.  Unfortunately we missed spending the evening with her because she had to attend the dress rehearsal for a production of “Little Women” for which she had made all the costumes.  So it was pretty important that she be there.  On Valentine’s Day?!?!?  How cruel!

We did get some time together before she introduced us, though.

The first thing I had to do once we got up on stage was take a picture of everyone – they looked terrific in their red!  What a photo op!

The left half

The right half

We got a great response from them as we sang and showed my quilts.  At the end, they gave us a standing ovation!  It was a great visit – I got to talk birding with a couple of members, quilting with some more, heard some great stories and ate pink desserty things.   Thanks, Norfolk County, for a lovely day!

Before I leave you for the night, I must tell you that we stopped off in Toronto on the way to drop off a baby quilt to my niece Anna, who has just had her first baby.  We’ve been carrying the quilt around since we left home, and it was great to see it in its rightful place. And Kalyan is the cutest little boy!   Here he is with his proud mom.

Such a little guy. It was love at first sight.

I can finally show you his quilt that I made before we left home.

I hope he grows into this quilt and loves it for many years to come. When he wears it out, his great-aunt will make him another.

Tomorrow we sing two shows for the Waterloo County quilt guild.  We’re looking forward to seeing some familiar faces there.  After that, it’s back into the States to continue back in the warmer southern states.

I hope you had a lovely Valentine’s Day.  We did too.

2 Responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day – from southern Ontario”

  1. Diane Says:

    Hi Cathy,
    Now that I have read your blog and seen the pictures I don’t have to feel like I missed guild so much. I webmaster the guild website where you can find our newsletters if you ever want to check in and see what we are doing.
    Thanks for being my good luck charm last night, now I will have to shop!
    All the best.
    Di

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 161 other followers

