My Little Hexagons

If you’ve seen my Seven Garden Maze quilt, of 1519 half inch hexagons made of silk, you’ve probably also heard my story that after that, I swore off hexagons for all time.  But then I made the mistake of visiting Gruber’s Quilt Shop in Waite Park MN.  We did a show there in June of 2007, and I showed the silk hex quilt. Afterwards, Shirley Krantz took me aside and talked me into buying 200 1/4 inch hexagon papers (Paper Pieces).  It’s all her fault!!!

This is what I do in the car when we’re driving between performances. It’s small, it’s portable, and it will take forever — that’s the point.

A year later, we stopped in to see her again, and here we are with the project to date. 

Me with Shirley in June 2008 at Gruber's

Me with Shirley in June 2008 at Gruber

 

It’s coming along and one day, when it’s finished, I’ll have to design another obsessive-compulsive project for the car!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

