Little Boxes

We’re in the final approach to our upcoming 2-1/2 month tour to England, Australia and New Zealand! For a full tour itinerary, check out my website, http://www.singingquilter.com.  In preparation for all the billets we’ll have between now and the 19th of December, I’ve been making fabric boxes to give as house gifts.  My friend Susan Purney Mark of Patchworks Studio showed me how to make them out of Fast 2 Fuse and I’ve been having such fun!

Here are a few that I’ve made.  Not all of them are completed – my plan is to hand sew them finished as we go, which means I can transport them in my suitcase FLAT!!  Perfect!

Fabric Boxes

Fabric Boxes

They are great to use up scraps or odd fabric that you fell in love with, but can’t for the life of you imagine how you will use it.  I’ve started embellishing them, too. You can make them any size, and add buttons or beads or ribbon or anything you like. I’ve really enjoyed making them, and I hope the recipients enjoy receiving them.

I’ve been practicing on my new Carbon Acoustic guitar for this tour – the first time I’ve used it for a whole tour.  Hopefully it will live up to its promo and survive all the flights I’m about to subject it to.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

