What I Did On Superbowl Sunday

You’ve probably noticed I haven’t been blogging much lately.  That’s because we’re HOME!! John and I haven’t been travelling, which is when I usually do my blogging.  We are getting together with friends, working, and going to concerts and plays when we can.  But today I had a lovely time with fabric, and I wanted to tell you about it.

I took a class from my friend Susan Purney-Mark today at the Satin Moon. She is becoming an expert in changing perfectly good “normal” fabric into art – and is very happy sharing her techniques with others. Today, I tried  silk screening for the first time.

There were four of us in the class, and we got all the teaching out of the way in the first hour, so we could spend the rest of the day playing.  With Susan’s expert advice and help, we tried discharge silk screening, cutting our own stencils and using some commercially available stencils. I think I could lose many many hours and days trying out new designs in this technique. Combine that with hand-dyed fabrics, or embellishments, or beading, or….. the sky’s the limit.

Today was also the day for the annual Chinese New Year’s Day Parade. The Satin Moon is situated within sight of the gates to Chinatown, and we were right in the thick of the festivities.   All the shops in the area hang a bunch of lettuce outside their doors – with an envelope of money – to entice the dragon to bring them good luck in the coming year.  After the parade, the dragon visits all the shops, knocking down the lettuce, collecting the money, and getting luck’s attention by lighting firecrackers.  It was great fun, and very loud and vibrant.  Here are some pictures of the day:

One Response to “What I Did On Superbowl Sunday”

  1. Mary in Oregon Says:

    Cathy, it sounds like you had a fantastic day! Isn’t it great when a person can spend time playing with fabric? 🙂 I love all the patterns on the silk. Yummy. Thanks too for explaining about the Chinese New Year celebration. I’ve never experienced that and had no idea about hanging the lettuce or money from a building.
    Take care,
    Mary

Leave a Reply

