Aloha!

We are heading out to begin our next adventure tomorrow morning:  eleven days on a cruise ship from Honolulu to Vancouver!  It’s very exciting, and only the second cruise John and I have been on.  The last time, we left from San Diego and had 7 days on the Oosterdam (Holland America) with stops in Puerto Vallarta, Mazatlan and Cabo San Lucas.  It was marvellous.  This time, we’ll be on the Carnival Spirit – and we’re ready to be spoiled rotten.

It was because of that first cruise that I became a quilting teacher, actually.  My friends Susan Purney-Mark and Daphne Greig invited me along — to sing, I thought, but it turned out I had to teach too.  Now, I’ve taught singing classes for 25 years, given guitar and even songwriting lessons, but I hadn’t started teaching quilting yet.  Am I ever glad I did!  I’m really enjoying teaching classes in our tours.  It’s a great way to spend some quality time with quilters in our travels, and I love helping people learn to be creative.  You’ve already read about how fun my newest class is (read some of the older posts from our last tour).  

So when the opportunity to do an 11 day cruise presented itself (with Susan and Daphne again) I leapt at the chance.  We’ll have 6 days of cruising around the Islands before our 5 days of uninterrupted quilting as we sail across to Vancouver. That’s when Susan will be teaching beading and wool applique, Daphne will teach a class in her Overlays to make an underwater scene, and I’ll be teaching hand applique to create a beautiful Yellow Hibiscus.  All the classes this time will be by hand, which is a wonderfully relaxing thing to do on a cruise ship.  By that time, we’ll be all operating on “Island Time”, and we’ll just float blissfully across (hope the sea is calm!) while we work on our creations – and our tans.

We have 33 quilters on the cruise, with some husbands accompanying. The last time we cruised, I was able to round up the husbands for an hour to write a song together, which we sang at the final concert.  I intend to do the same again this time.  Who knows what we’ll come up with, but I’ll bring John’s ukulele so that the song sounds like it was written in Hawaii!!!

So: see you in 11 days.  I promise I’ll post some pics here and let you know how it all went. Aloha!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

