High Relief Carving and Going to Nebraska

I want to show you how the wood carving I’ve been doing is turning out.  I’ve removed much more of the background with this version (still the same piece of wood), which gives the bear a much more lifelike look.  It’s still not finished, but it’s much closer than it was.

highreliefbearsmall

And what fun!  I’ve ordered the “real” piece of wood for the sign I’m going to make for John’s daughter, and it should be awaiting our return from our 2-week tour we’re about to embark on.

We’re on our way to Eugene Oregon, Coupeville Washington, and Lincoln Nebraska for their state quilt show.  I’m really looking forward to seeing the new Quilt Museum in Lincoln Nebraska, the new home of the American Quilt Study Group collection.  I’ve heard great things about the new building.

So I’ve been practicing up my songs, and emptying out the fridge for another (short) foray.  It’s the height of summer, so our travels should be wonderful, even if the roads are full of tourists…. We don’t consider ourselves tourists, of course! But we might slip in one or two touristy things as we go.

One Response to “High Relief Carving and Going to Nebraska”

  1. Michelle Says:

    It looks fantastic! Go you!

Leave a Reply

