DONE!!

It looks very much like the last time I posted it, but if you look REEEEAAALLY close, you won’t see any basting, or unfinished binding. I even replaced the Colonial knot that pulled through when I tied it off (how can people see the ONE missing knot of all of them two seconds after they pick it up to look at it?)

I’m soooo happy this is finished.  Now I can move on to another 1/4″ hexagon project.  One where: a) I like the colours, b) the design is my own, and c) one that I don’t have to put it down for months on end because I hate it so much!!!

Unless by a miracle it gets into the Houston show, receives a ribbon somewhere, or gets lost in the mail, you likely won’t hear about this quilt again. (I’m sure you’re relieved to hear that!) But it will be travelling in the suitcase with the rest of my quilts, so you can look at it up close.

Ta DAAAAA!

About 3,000 1/4" hexagons, 3 1/2 years of my life. 24" wide. Insanity. (yes, that's its name)

Done. Is better than perfect.

13 Responses to “DONE!!”

  1. Barbara Tricarico Says:

    IT’S GORGEOUS! You’ll like it better once you get away from it a bit. Especially if it’s hanging in the Houston show! LOL

  2. Mary in Oregon Says:

    Looking forward to hearing how well it was received at Houston. 🙂

  3. Wendy Says:

    It’s sure to make Houston (or Paducah!)….. after seeing it up close and personal, seeing it done is amazing! Congrats on a job well done!

  4. Norma Says:

    Amazing. I’ve only ever made two quilts so I know just how must work has gone into this. Truly wonderful. Any chance of getting a close-up picture?

  5. Ruth E. Thaler-Carter Says:

    The same way that some of us can see one little typo at a glance, without even trying!

    This is just lovely; hope it wins some awards for you.

  6. Sandi Myer Says:

    Fantastic! Good for you for making this quilt. I too hope it wins awards [many] for you! I love the close ups!

  7. Pam Pemberton Says:

    Cathy, that’s just beautiful, although I know what you mean by hating it at the moment. Give it two years and you’ll pull it out, look at it and think, ‘Wow, I did that… I must have been mad, but it looks great!”
    The best bit of your post is that you are already planning your next 1/2″ hexagon quilt…. ‘My name is Cathy and I’m a hexaholic’.

    Good luck with the new one and keep us posted.

  8. Pam Nourse Says:

    Well, it may have driven you crazy, but nonetheless it’s gorgeous! Plus, anyone working with 1/4 inch hexagons makes me and my 3/8 inch half-square triangles look normal. Which I think is a good thing…

    • singingquilter Says:

      Ahhhh Pam – 3/8 inch HSTs? I’d LOVE to see those! Are you doing these by machine?

      • Pam Nourse Says:

        Nope — by hand. My machine and I don’t always get along, and if I want precision then I have to work by hand! The HSTs are part of the inner feathered star in Marsha McCloskey’s Triple Feathered Star pattern (from the book “Feathered Star Quilt Blocks I” — the subtitle is “Really Hard Blocks that Take a Long Time to Make”, so of course I had to try them…). I made a previous incarnation in blue and white, and promptly swore I would never, ever do that again. So now I’m making the second version in red and white…

      • singingquilter Says:

        LOL! I like the way you think, Pam!! I have seen the book – loved the title! Aren’t you just OVER the “easy-peasy” thing? We’re big girls now, and we’re allowed to do really hard things!!

Leave a Reply

