Notan Challenge

I’ve started a challenge on my Facebook fan page that I want you to know about.  For the month of July, you are challenged to make a new Notan design a day, then post it to the site.

Notan originated in Japan, and is a very fun way to learn about positive/negative design.  It starts (for us) with a 6″ square of paper.  Draw shapes that enter and end on the same side (they can do anything after that), cut them out, and reverse the cutouts so that they mirror the opening in the square.  Here’s an example to show you what I mean.

Everything I’ve cut out from the middle gets flipped and laid outside the square.

There is no sewing involved in this (unless you really really love what you’ve created and want to make one).  If you do decide to make a quilt from one, I would highly recommend using my Mock Mola technique, or “Give and Take Applique” by my friends Daphne Greig and Susan Purney-Mark.

I think this is going to be a really fun challenge!  I can’t wait to see the results.

 

Leave a Reply

