France

Greetings, everyone, from Nancy France!  We arrived two days ago, heading from Paris to John’s cousin, Faith, to reconnect and recover from our jet lag.  We have rented a car for the duration of our time in Europe, and it has already been great to look around the country more than we have before.  The last time in France, we were only in Paris (Eiffel Tower, Musée d’Orsée, Napoleon’s Tomb, etc.). This time, we left Charles de Gaulle airport and won’t be back in Paris until we leave in 2 1/2 weeks.  It is giving us an entirely different view of the country, out of the tourist area.

We took a lovely walk around the village where Faith and Didier live, into the forests and fields surrounding their town.  We stopped at a prehistoric burial site in a farmer’s field.

The stones behind them are part of the burial mound.

The houses here are different than I’m used to.  Often there is a gate, behind which is a beautiful garden.  This house had nothing but dahlias – what a beautiful display!

There is a stream running through town.  There are ancient stone pools dotted throughout, called lavoires where people used to do their laundry. There are also occasional “water features” on people’s properties from eons ago, too.

Maybe this was a horse watering place from long ago?

I am loving being in a very old part of the world. Like in England, the stone textures capture me, and I find myself taking pictures of the fences and cobblestone pathways. I’ll try not to burden you with many, but I HAD to take this one!

So far people have been very kind when I’ve been speaking French.  Even when I don’t know what they’re talking about.  We stopped in a supermarché this evening to pick up things for dinner, and I didn’t know that I had to weigh my banana before I got to the till.  After she said I had to ______ twice (I still have no idea the word she said), I told her I didn’t understand and she quite happily went and weighed and labelled it and brought it back to the cash register for me.  I’m glad she wasn’t too busy…..

Everything is better when you say it with a smile….. (even if people might think it’s a stupid smile – agh, les Anglais!)

So we’ve officially started our French visit – with bread, cheese, wine and quiche lorraine!  Salut!!

5 Responses to “France”

  1. Heather - Quilter's Connection Magazine Says:

    Sounds like a wonderful trip already! For me, I am absolutely fascinated and captivated by doors in European countries – they are so beautiful and ornate – so I understand what you mean! Enjoy the rest of your trip!

  2. Didier Boutet Says:

    Nice blog, Cathy !

  3. Daphne Greig Says:

    Sounds just MARVY! Have fun, fun, fun.

  4. Heather McClure Says:

    Cathy,
    I just love when I check your blog and there is a new posting. Ahh France; the food, the wine, the food! Looking forward to the next chapter of this trip.

    Heather, in Montreal

Leave a Reply

