Yo, Ho, Ho…. and some Mardis Gras bling

Hello everyone: Thank you for reading this blog.  I haven’t been very active for a little while, as we’ve been driving for 9 straight days to get to Florida.  I don’t really have much to say about the drive. We’ve done it before, many times.  The weather got warmer as we got south, the rain stopped (until we got east), it got really dry across the deserts, and it started raining again in Texas (where they really really need it).  Flooded fields by Louisiana, and here in Florida, lots of wind.  We wake to the fog of Gainesville.  That means the wind has calmed, and our little boat trip should be smooth (I hope).

I found a great quilt shop yesterday in Panama City Florida, Quilting by the Bay. They were very friendly, helpful (one gal took me around to the horse fabric and then the patterns to show me what I could do with them – lots of great ideas!), and sent me off with some wonderful catalogues and shop fabric bags for our cruisers.  The next time we’re through, they want me to do a class with them.  I’m very impressed with this shop – it’s a real going concern.

I must tell you about one delightful stop on our drive.  We crossed the border into Alabama and stopped at the welcome center for lunch.  I recalled the last time we stopped here, and vaguely remembered a display inside, so I wandered in.  I was NOT disappointed!

The first thing I saw was a quilt on the wall, made by school children in honour of Hurricane Katrina.  It was very poignant.

 

This is the quilt, made with fused applique.

 

A poster beside the quilt to explain it.

 

I dream that construction was going quicker.

So I could live in my house again.

I hope the making of this quilt helped in the healing for these kids.

In the rest of the welcome center area I found some amazing gowns.  It’s Mardi Gras time here – in fact, the waiter at the Louisiana Barbecue place the other night had Mardi Gras beads around his neck!  They take their Mardi Gras very seriously in these parts, and the Welcome Center had an amazing display of Mardis Gras dresses worn in the parades.  Take a look at these!

I particularly love the rocket ship on this one!

So, happy Mardis Gras, everyone!  The next post from me will (hopefully) be from aboard the ms Noordam – our Holland America ship taking quilters to new adventures!!!

4 Responses to “Yo, Ho, Ho…. and some Mardis Gras bling”

  1. Irene Says:

    How exciting, Cathy, to be on a quilting cruise in the Caribbean!

    Taking a look at your year, I realize that it is a good thing that you’ve gotten a new car! You will be zig-zagging all over the place until you get to New South Wales!

    Should you (and John!) want a quiet afternoon at Malahat, just let me know – the e-mail address is the same. I should be here until the end of May.

    Happy 2012!

    • singingquilter Says:

      Hi Irene – sorry we’ll miss you this time. We won’t be home for a while. Have a lovely nice long stay up the hill – and we’ll hope for no more snow for you!!!
      cheers, cathy

      • Irene Says:

        Hi Cathy,

        Thanks for the response – I hope that your cruise and the people on it were fantabulous, and that you had a good time.

        Happy Travels!

        X O Irene

  2. Michelle Says:

    Sounds like a great shop! Enjoy your cruise.

Leave a Reply

