Peggy’s Cove

It was a chilly (5 degrees C) but magnificently sunny day today.  We left Halifax this morning and took the slow way to visit friends partway down the coast, on the point between St. Margaret’s Bay and Mahone Bay. Our friends have a 300 degree view of water from their house – wonderful. We’re very happy to be here. On the way here, we visited one of Atlantic Canada’s iconic tourist traps: Peggy’s Cove.

I know why the Cove is such a magnet for tourists: the bare glacier-scraped granite rock sweeping down to the restless Atlantic Ocean is something you don’t see in many other spots.  There are perfect photo opportunities of a lonely lighthouse perched atop the rocks, and today we saw a fishing boat just off the point, as well. (There are signs everywhere saying “don’t stand on wet rocks or dark rocks” – many people unfamiliar with being by the ocean have been swept out to sea by standing in the zone where a rogue king wave can wash them away.) In the summertime, the place is overrun with tourists.  Today, we only saw Nova Scotia licence plates in the parking lots, and it was possible to take pictures without hundreds of people in them.

Here are some of the pictures we took today.

Here is the harbour.

A fishing boat picking up his lobster pots.

Lobster pots awaiting deployment.

Peggy's Cove lighthouse

Just down the road, in Indian Harbour,  we stopped at the monument to the Swiss Air Flight 111 that came down in the sea 11 kilometres off this coast on September 2, 1998.  It is a simple, but heartfelt memorial to those who lost their lives that day. There is another one across St. Margaret’s Bay in Bayswater.  The location of the two monuments and the crash site makes a triangle shape. You can peer through the slanted cuts in the granite to where the plane went down.

Swissair Flight 111 Memorial, Indian Cove, NS

We continued our drive along the coast to where our friends live, and we all went for a walk along the shore in the sunshine. All in all, it was a wonderful day!

5 Responses to “Peggy’s Cove”

  1. Cindy Smith Says:

    Hi Cathy,

    The photos are beautiful (as are your quilts–I checked them out first!). I’ve lost touch with you and John since I moved away from Fremont, CA, where you used to park the “Traveling Bus” in my long driveway when you visited The Piecemakers Guild. I done a little quilting in the past few years, but more traveling, and writing. I still have your first quilting record, which I listened to over and over when I first started writing.

    Best wishes,
    Cindy Smith

    • singingquilter Says:

      Cindy, it was at your place that I ate the first orange I picked myself! I’ll never forget it “Just help yourself to oranges in the morning.” “But you’ll be gone to work” “Pick them off the tree!”

      The “housetruck” is gone, but we’re still travelling. Good to hear that you are too. How are you?

  2. Cindy Smith Says:

    Yes, the oranges were wonderful. Sadly, that old house is falling apart. I feel so bad when I drive by there and see it with the windows boarded up and the garden dead.

    My husband, Greg, and I made a trip across the USA last summer. I started a blog recently and am talking about that trip on it. I’ve also written a lighthearted mystery about two traveling sisters who stumble over dead bodies. Have to get it published now! Still working at Stanford University, so I’ve been busy.

    Great to hear from you!
    Cindy

  3. buttontreelane Says:

    I have always wanted to visit there. Maybe one day we will have our cross-Canadian odyssey!

    Thanks for the photos. They are inspiring.

    (looking forward to seeing you in Townsville in June! Scott is now quite jealous that I get to see you guys and he doesn’t!)

Leave a Reply

