Carol Ann Waugh

I’ve been doing some pre-planning before I tape The Quilt Show with Ricky Tims and Alex Anderson in August.  Part of my homework is reading their blog and watching shows.  My friend Ami Simms did a wonderful show for them in 2010 (and you can watch it for free) about the Alzheimers Art Quilt Initiative that she has spearheaded, and, consequently, I have a much better idea about what to expect when I do my own show. It’s taped in front of a live audience, and that means it should be a LOT of fun!

On their blog today, I learned about Carol Ann Waugh, a quilt artist from Denver who works with couched threads on some of her pieces.  She also uses a technique she calls “stitch and slash”, which sounds a bit like my Mock Mola applique technique.

You MUST check out her quilts!  They are bright and fun and fantastic, and they use all those stitches your sewing machine came with that you never use!  I particularly liked her video demo of what she calls “Rattail Binding for a Quilt”.

It’s a good day, when I can learn about a new quilt artist!

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Carol Ann Waugh”

  1. Jan Rhoades Says:

    Hi folks. I have just bought an online workshop from Craftsy featuring Carol Ann Waugh and yes, it is the same (more than similar) to your mock Mola. You are right – here quilts are a lot of fun. Catch you both soon!

    • singingquilter Says:

      That’s interesting, Jan – it just looks different because there’s a different artistic soul behind the vision! Clearly, I’m more of a “black and colour” kind of person, she’s got a much broader palate!

  2. Katina Says:

    I’ve had a free membership to The Quilt Show for a couple of months. My husband asked me what I would like for Mother’s Day and I told him a membership to The Quilt Show. So I went on line and signed me up. Just love to watch the shows and recently saw the one with Carol Ann Waugh. So I will be watching for you. BTW, just spent four fabulous days at Quilt Canada and now totally exhausted.

    • singingquilter Says:

      Hi Katina: I’m glad to hear you enjoyed Quilt Canada! I have no idea how long it will take between taping The Quilt Show and when it will be available. As soon as I know, I’ll put it into the blog.

Leave a Reply

