The Quilt Show

Have you ever wondered how they make TV shows?  It’s not as easy as it looks.  I was invited to be on The Quilt Show with Ricky Tims and Alex Anderson.  This is an on-line show that they have offered since Alex’s “Simply Quilts” went off the TV air. I was looking forward to it, and nervous at the same time.

My call time was 8am.  The first thing they did was check my outfit, so Ricky and Alex could coordinate with what I was wearing.  Alex told me they go out shopping just before they do a series of shows, buying a wide range of colours so they can fit in with the guests.  As they use them, they tear off the sales tags. I suppose they only wear them once (but I could be making that up).  It sounds like an excellent reason to go shopping!

The place was buzzing by the time we arrived.  I had dropped off my quilts the day before, so they could “rest” and unkink themselves on the table.  As I brought all my demonstration stuff out, John Anderson (Alex’s husband) started putting them up on the wall behind the demo table.

Hanging my quilts on the wall

The audience arrived at about 9am.  They have seats for 50 of them, and they are selected from subscribers.  That day we even had two gals from Victoria (Canada) there, so I felt right at home!

The first 45 minutes had the audience on camera, pretending to be impressed, applauding, oohing, and generally working hard. These shots will be interspersed afterwards.

Ricky’s partner, Justin, has a headset on throughout, and he is in constant contact with the producer in the booth.  I would call this a floor manager – not sure what he calls it!  In this picture, he and John are getting audience reactions – John is offering a brand new Bernina mega-quilting machine to anyone in the audience! As if….

Then it was my turn.  The first segment is an interview with the guest.  Because I was going to sing, we decided to not do this on the comfy chairs, but to sit on higher stools, where I could play my guitar in comfort.  We talked about the quilt that inspired “My Grandfather’s Brother” song, which I brought from home, as well as how I got started with this spasm of my career.

The next segment was the demonstration of my Mock Mola applique technique.  I had decided to use “Hot and Cold” as my pattern, and Ricky helped me make it through the demo.  I did get to sew briefly on the new Bernina – wish I had had more time on it!

I started this part by singing an excerpt from “You Can Quilt That Out” to Ricky!

The next part was a demonstration of NOTAN, Exploding the Square, which I talk about in my Mock Mola classes.  It’s a very cool technique of positive/negative designs.  Alex tried her hand at it, using a piece of construction paper.  I sang “100 Ways to Hide Your Stash” to her to start.

Alex and Ricky continued by doing their “promos”, talking up the show and explaining briefly what we did, so people will want to watch it.

There was a button lady who came in to talk with them about her collection after this.  I’m embarrassed to say I didn’t hear it.  I was outside, trying to cool off.  It was a very hot day, and with the lights inside the studio (and not much air circulation), it was very warm.  The audience didn’t have that luxury, alas.  They were real troopers!

One more segment for me: the final bit, where they want to find out about my other interests.  I sent in some pictures of our travels; notably, of the trip a couple of years ago we did with “Kass”, the Mock Mola kangaroo, where we took pictures of him with iconic large road sculptures before I sent him over to England where he now lives.  Also, I talked about a carved wooden sign I made for (my) John’s daughter and S-I-L a few years ago, and that was it.  I don’t really have much of a life outside of music and quilting…..!!! LOL

The producer had a great idea for Justin’s little promo spot, using me playing my guitar while he spoke.  But it was to look like HE was playing!  Justin is tall and he had to scrunch down so I could get my arms around him – even still, it was hard to play!   I hope it looks good on the screen.

Then it was all over, save the obligatory “photo ops”.  Thank, Alex and Ricky, Justin and John (and Lilo and Shelly) for an absolutely wonderful day!  You made it all so easy for me.

They told me the plan is to get the show on this coming November.  I’ll let you know when it is available.  I can’t wait to see it!

Smile!

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “The Quilt Show”

  1. Barbara Tricarico Says:

    I can’t WAIT to see this, Cathy!! After all these years in front of an audience, I’m sure you did super. And knowing Ricky & Alex probably made it less stressful for you than it could have been.

  2. Michelle Says:

    Wow Cathy! What an amazing experience can’t wait to see the show

  3. The Quilt Show « SingingQuilter’s Weblog Says:

    […] you remember last summer (August) when I told you about my taping on The Quilt Show? It was a great experience, to hang out with Ricky Tims, Alex Anderson, and 50 audience members […]

Leave a Reply

