My Obsession

I confess, I have a bit of an obsession. It all started years ago, when I realized we were going to spend many months each year on the road.  We drive a lot in our travels, and we often drive the same roads over and over again. It helps to have something to do with my hands.

I’m addicted to hexagons.

I generally work with small ones – the biggest so far is 1/2″, because they take less room and take a long time to put together.  I’ve just completed my second of these.  They become wall hangings. If I do another, maybe I can have a little mini-show of them all together.  It will be impressive – and represent many, many hours of hand work. Many miles travelled. I have made a smaller quilt of 1/4″ hexes – 3000 of them – I’m not sure I’ll do another of that size, but it did get into the Houston quilt festival last year!

So: here’s my Show and Tell for today.  15 months of work,  1387 half inch hexagons in a snowflake pattern.  The quilt measures 38 1/2″ x 33 1/2″.  Made with Cherrywood fabric hand-dyed cotton in a blue colour way, and white Fairy Frost by Michael Miller. Yes, it sparkles!!! I started it in August 2011, and put the last two pieces on this week.

I will be adding borders and then quilting. Maybe crystals, too, to increase the sparkle factor.

I’m feeling a bit bereft, now that it’s finished, and am working on a new design for the next project. I’ve just bought myself 2400 paper templates of 3/8″ hexagons from Paper Pieces, which I’m itching to get started.  I’ve seen a couple of quilts made with this size, and they are gorgeous. Something about this size is very appealing to me. The next one will be scrappier and brighter than the ones I’ve made to date.  After that, I don’t know what the quilt will look like.  Perhaps a modern looking mosaic-type quilt? I should have something new to show you in a year or two!

Tags:

14 Responses to “My Obsession”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    That’s so pretty!

  2. pathalperin Says:

    I love hexagons, too. Great travel activity. Your work is gorgeous. Pat Halper

  3. Margaret A Says:

    Cathy, I wouldn’t say you are obsessed with hexagons, you just don’t like things that interupt your hexagon life! I love them too.
    Hugs,
    Margaret A

  4. Sue Mobilia Says:

    Your Snowflake quilt is gorgeous. You have far more patience that I!

  5. Katina Says:

    After making about ten hexagons recently I declare I am done. So I congratulate you and your patience. That is beautiful and I look forward to seeing the end result.

  6. Karen O Says:

    Fantastic! I haven’t gotten obsessed with that yet, although I do have a stack of Grandmother’s Flower Garden flowers that need to be sewn together into a quilt top. I don’t have any of the path pieces, so I would have to cut a bunch up to the right size…I’ll have to find out what size and find some paper hexes to work on that! Someday…

  7. Kate Says:

    There seems to be a bad case of hexie obsession going through my quilt group just now. I haven’t caught it yet.
    None of the ones I have seen in my group are as lovely as this one!

  8. Jan Rhoades Says:

    Wow, by the time you finish it off and add some crystals it will really sing. Looks fabulous already. Keep up the good work 🙂

Leave a Reply

