Scatterdays one: W

The first Scatterdays challenge is to come up with four pictures on the following categories, all using the letter W.

Expensive:

Wrinkles. Expensive? It’s a Whole lifetime full of Ways, Woes, Wonders, Whys, Wind, Weariness and Worries. Yes, they can be expensive – but only if I want them to disappear (which I don’t).

Music:

This Whistle is one of the most basic instruments there is: a Nose Whistle.  Not to be played when you have a cold!

This Whistle is one of the most basic instruments there is: a Nose Whistle. Not to be played when you have a cold!

Exciting:

I'm a bit of a birder, especially when we travel.  But here's a picture from the duck pond very near our house.  A Double W:  Wood ducks and Widgeons!

I’m a bit of a birder, especially when we travel. But here’s a picture from the duck pond very near our house. A Double W: Wood ducks and Widgeons! Very exciting to me!

WIP (That’s a Work In Progress, for you who aren’t quilters!)

I started this piece on New Year's Day. It will be a small Wall hanging (a trip around the World) to display my many quilt pins I've collected over the years.

I started this piece on New Year’s Day. It will be a small Wall hanging (a trip around the World) to display the many quilt pins I’ve collected over the years.

15 Responses to “Scatterdays one: W”

  1. Sue Mobilia Says:

    Wow, a woman with a wonderful way with words. Woohoo!

  2. Vireya Says:

    I’ve never seen a nose whistle before! (Actually I’ve never even heard of them).

  3. Joy V Says:

    Love your choices Cathy – especially ‘Wrinkles’. I wouldn’t have been game to put a photo like that of me.

  4. cinzia Says:

    Is that nose whistle for real?

    • singingquilter Says:

      Yes, it’s real! Also known as a nose flute – my granddaughter received two in her stocking from Santa this year. Turns out we could have had a family orchestra – I had 4 left over from many years ago (what was I thinking to do with them?). Alas, I found them after everyone left after Christmas.

  5. ozjane Says:

    Oh dear….I replied in the post below as I missed this one.
    Well done. and yes the nose whistle is new.

  6. Daphne Greig Says:

    Great pics Cathy. Nose whistle is a new one on me.

    • singingquilter Says:

      Ahh, that’s why you should always ask a professional, Daphne!!! LOL If you do a search for YouTube videos, you’ll find lots and lots of people are quite good (and some not good at all…..) at it. Between my wrinkly eyes and my nose whistle, I’m getting a lot of comments!

  7. Sue Says:

    Never seen or heard of a nose whistle. Loved the colours in your WIP

  8. sue Says:

    Cathy – I love your ideas, especially the expensive “wrinkle”!!!! That’s great lateral-thinking!!! 🙂

    🙂 sue 🙂

  9. Jenni S. Says:

    Great photos Cathy, love the wrinkles one, so clever.

  10. Liz Needle Says:

    Great ideas for photos Cathy. Very original. You have set the bar high. Let’s see what ‘R’ brings.

Leave a Reply

