Scatterdays Q

I’m a day early on the Scatterdays this time because I have a busy weekend ahead of me. I’m in final preparation for the Katie Pasquini Masopust workshop next week, and John is also singing with the Gettin’ Higher Choir tonight and tomorrow. As well, I’m planning on a day of non-work on Sunday – my birthday!

This week’s challenge was:

Q fruit and vegetableA Q-Plant

Nighttime

Something Healthy

Quick Quilting

A Q-Plant: QUINCE

One of the most inedible fruits that exists.

One of the most inedible fruits that exists.

We were travelling through Australia a few years ago and were served a special treat: quince paste with blue cheese on crackers.  It was amazing! I remember quince being available when I was a kid.  I even took a bite out of one – an experience never to be forgotten.  When my mouth recovered from the intense bitterness, I vowed never again to do anything so stupid.

But amazing things happen to quince when you add sugar and boil it down into paste.  And it’s even more wonderful when you add it to blue cheese.  I’ve only come recently to an appreciation of blue cheese, and there are still times it’s a bit much.  But the blend between these two very different flavours makes me wonder why blue cheese cows don’t live in quince orchards!

I found quince available at my local green grocer in October, and I bought some.  I made my own quince paste, cut it up into little blocks and gave most of them away for Christmas presents.  Here is the last one. (I’m saving it for a very special occasion!)

The last quince paste of the year....

Quintessence of Quince!

 

Nighttime:

Oh, my, I haven’t a clue about this one. I suppose the thing that most happens to me when I’m not asleep at night, is I’m filled with Questions.  What would happen if……?????? It’s part of my creative process. A Quantity of Questions, leaving me sometimes Queasy, and in a Quandary.  My wonder is unQuenchable; you could say I’m the Queen of Questions!

question

Something Healthy:

This one was Easy Peasy!  Malaria is a huge problem in the world, and we must always be vigilant against this horrible disease!  Until the 1940s the primary treatment was Quinine.

This is the chemical structure of Quinine

This is the chemical structure of Quinine

Malaria isn’t a big problem in Canada and I believe the reason is clear:  we drink a lot of Tonic Water, which contains minute quantities of this essential chemical.  Have you ever drunk Tonic Water by itself?  Yuck!  It’s FAR better, when combined with another clear (rather more potent) liquid: GIN!

 

quinine (2)

G&T = Malaria cure!

That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it.

Quick Quilting:

I have just completed my first triptych which will be part of the 10-quilt Refractions Challenge I’ve undertaken with two friends (a painter and a potter).  I finished all three in far less time than any one of the previous three quilts in this challenge, because I used my favourite technique: Mock Mola Applique!  This is a technique I’ve been teaching for several years now, using raw-edge, reverse applique by machine.  I took my inspiration for these pieces (meant to be hung together) from the refraction of waves. The Quilts are fat Quarter sized.

Quick?  Each piece was ready to bind in under two hours!

Wave Theory Triptych

Wave Theory Triptych

 

That’s it for now. I’ll report on the Katie Pasquini Masopust workshop when I return at the end of the week. I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT THIS CLASS!!!

Our next Scatterdays challenge is T: Tasty, Tiny, Terrifying, Threads in two weeks. Watch this space!  By the way, there are lots of others participating in this Scatterdays thing:  Check out Cinzia’s website for links to the rest.  We’re all having lots of fun!

20 Responses to “Scatterdays Q”

  1. Jan Rhoades Says:

    Hi Cathy. This is all great stuff. I especially like your cure for malaria!!! Maybe we could all raise a G&T for your birthday on Sunday. Happy Birthday. I hope it is a good one for you.

  2. Sue Mobilia Says:

    I love your post, it might be the references to G &T and Quince paste with Blue Cheese. Two combinations I need in my life. Yummy.

  3. Katina Chapman Says:

    Happy Birthday for Sunday Cathy. My daughter in law, Candace, also sings in that choir, has for years. Never had the opportunity to hear them live, but I am told they are awesome. Love, love your triptych. Zebras, fancy zebras is what I see. Going to chose some fabric for the mock mola. May send you pics to see if I am on the right track. Won’t be for awhile yet. Enjoy your workshop, sounds like fun.

    • singingquilter Says:

      Hi Katina – the choir was great last night. Another show tonight, then it’s over! Seems like a lot of work to me for not much glory….. but chorists love it.
      thanks for the comments about my triptych. Good luck with your own Mock Mola!

  4. Vireya Says:

    Happy birthday!

    I’m glad I wasn’t the only one who thought of the “healthy” G&T.

  5. Jenni S. Says:

    Wonderful Q’s. Have fun at Katy’s class, happy birthday, hope your day was a great one doing something you love.

  6. cinzia White Says:

    love you quilt/s and can’t wait to read about your workshop next week… also great info in your scatterday post. Will have to look into the quince and blue vein cheese duo.

  7. lulubellelizLiz Needle Says:

    Clever take on the letter Q. Quince paste and blue cheese – a taste sensation made in heaven!

  8. Sue Says:

    Love your ‘Q’s’ Cathy, especially the quince jelly. Great combination with any cheese. Have to agree with your theory on malaria too.

  9. Joy V Says:

    Great Q’s. Ditto on the Quince – we had one in our backyard and I just loooove the jam.
    Hope you have a great birthday.

  10. Ros H Says:

    Love you Quick Quits. Cathy

  11. FlourishingPalms Says:

    Good-to-know information about quince, which I have never seen or tasted. Sounds just yummy. I think I’m deprived! (Not depraved.) Thanks for visiting my Q post too. I was unable to reply to your comment because you’re a “no reply commenter.” Did you know that?

    • singingquilter Says:

      Yes, lots of us seem to know about quince, even though it’s something I hadn’t seen in decades. I don’t know why you couldn’t reply to my comment on your blog. Next time I send a note, I’ll check that out.

  12. ozjane Says:

    Oh Cathy, you have not had quince served in a posh place for breakfast……LOL! it has been very trendy in past years. Maggie Beer uses it a lot if you check her website, but my enduring memory was a breakfast at MT Buffalo Chalet in the winter of’71. A male friend, not boy friend as such although the romance of being out in the snow almost changed that,,,long story also. However we had separate rooms and the other couples at the breakfast table were somewhat curious about our differing locations……and we ate quince It has to be pink. Long and slow and spices. I cooked some last year but had to admit I did not eat it all. But it was oh so trendy a while back. http://www.maggiebeer.com.au/
    A friend and I went to visit in the mid ’80’s and my friend was not up for eating in the restaurant…it is now closed…I am still sad about my missed opportunity. I get cramp a lot so have tonic water in fruit juice with physllium husks in it each night. (spelling???)
    Interesting that Canada drinks a lot of it. Do you also like bitter lemon? Love quintessence, queasy, quandary etc and ditto the quilts.

    • singingquilter Says:

      No, we don’t have bitter lemon here, that I know of. Of course Canadians also drink lots of other things, but for me, summer hasn’t arrived until the first G&T!

      Funny, there are reports that Canada used to have malarial mozzies, but no longer. I wonder how that happened?

  13. mlm247 Says:

    G’day from Darwin, Australia. I have just found your blog after watching a clip on The Quilt Show newsletter with Ricky Tims. We did a quilting course together in the 1990s with Jenny Armour. You were teaching song composition in schools at the time I think. I recall you made a vest with a circular quilted motif of a G-clef on the back during the course. I remember that your CD was popular at the time. You seem to be thriving on quilting these days with singing as an accompaniment. Will be reading enthusiastically from now on. Maybe one day we will meet again on one of your quilting cruises.

    • singingquilter Says:

      Hello, Mary Louise! And what a great class it was, with Jenny. I’m still in touch with her, and credit her with making me the fearless quilter I am today! I don’t wear that vest anymore, but I still have it – I quilted a stylized treble clef, repeated in a circle, on the back. It’s just a little warm, though, since I put wadding inside. It was a quilt as you go, as I recall! Boy, did we ever get lots done in that series of classes! I’m glad you’ve found me. Do keep in touch.
      cheers, cathy

Leave a Reply

