Spoolboard Quilting Retreat

I’ve had a marvellous week!  My home quilting group manages to get away on retreat at least once a year.  They’ve been doing this for ages, ‘way longer than I’ve been a member.  This one was number 19 for them!

This time, we rented a vacation house in Sooke, which isn’t a long drive from where we live. Just long enough that we don’t feel inclined to go home to sleep every night (which is the point, after all: to get away), but without a ferry ride or long drive to do first.  Eight of us committed to spend four nights, and we brought along lots of food, drink, DVDs and sewing to keep us occupied.

Here’s the view from my bedroom:

The view I woke up to for four mornings.

The view I woke up to

We had a great space to work.  The tables were high, and the sewing machine feet were a bit of a stretch, but we made do, and got LOTS accomplished.  Some of us were hand sewing, some machine sewing, and some not quilting at all, but knitting.

Three of us had a very bright table!

Three of us had a very bright table!

We created some lovely pieces, in between meals and watching episodes of the BBC series “Cranford”.

Margaret started the week with only the centre completed, and added the borders.

Margaret started the week with only the centre completed, and added the borders.

Susan completed her Dragon Bones quilt, using Ricky Tims hand dyes!

Susan completed her Dragon Bones quilt top, using Ricky Tims hand dyes!

Carol put these little blocks together really quickly, and it was spectacular!

Carol put these little blocks together really quickly, and it was spectacular!

Marguerite completed this sweater, a pair of leg warmers, and a hat. Fast knitter!

Marguerite completed this sweater, a pair of leg warmers, and a hat. Fast knitter!

Carol's second project of the week was this lovely log cabin.

Carol’s second project of the week was this lovely log cabin.

Shelley got this years-old UFO finished, using Susan's Shattered Angles technique.

Shelley got this years-old UFO finished, using Susan’s Shattered Angles technique.

And I finished off two quilts that I had started before.  Both are part of my Refractions challenge.

Drawaing Straws bound

Drawing Straws bound

Port Angeles harbour quilted and bound

Port Angeles harbour quilted and bound

I have now run out of things to work on, believe it or not.  These two pieces represent the halfway point of my Refractions challenge which I’m working on for the next year with two friends (a painter and a potter). We are each challenged to produce 10 pieces – these are numbers 4 and 5 for me. Time to design another quilt!

I’m so happy I was home to be a part of this retreat.  I get a lot done when I am away from home, in a beautiful place with good friends. We did a little singing, too, and a LOT of laughing.  I can’t wait till I can do it again!

9 Responses to “Spoolboard Quilting Retreat”

  1. Jan Rhoades Says:

    Tables too high??? Yes, a special problem now that phone books are thin on the ground (pardon the pun) and rare as hen’s teeth. They were used for everything including finding telephone numbers.

    Looks like a wonderful 4 days – well done. Love Port Angeles Harbour – colours are fabulous.

    • singingquilter Says:

      Shelley did find a phone book that I saw her using. But there was only one……
      I’m quite thrilled at how Port Angeles harbour has turned out too – glad you like it!

  2. Pam Pemberton Says:

    Gorgeous colours! Are you sure you aren’t in the tropics? I must look up “dragon bones” and “shattered angles” – both spectacular!

  3. Joy V Says:

    What a fabulous place to stay. And a fund table – love those ribbons in the hair!!!!! Can’t wait to see the rest of your ‘refractions’.

  4. Sue Mobilia Says:

    This looks like a very productive retreat. I’m on retreat right now with 17 WA Scquilters, I wonder if we will do as well. There is a “back to school” party planned for tonight……….maybe not much sewing will happen.

Leave a Reply

