Scatterdays: B

Greetings from Summersville West Virginia!  I’ve had a most wonderful weekend here, and am winging my way home today.  This is my first time singing in this state, and I’m delighted with the hospitality and warmth that the quilters have welcomed me with.  It was a long day yesterday, with a full-day Notan class and a concert, but it was worth it!

It’s been a busy couple of weeks, and I haven’t been able to concentrate enough on my answers to today’s letter: B I’ll do my Best!

Our categories are: Library, Smell, Equipment and Blog.

In Victoria we have several Branches of our Greater Victoria Public Library.  One of them is called the Bruce Hutchison library. Beautiful!

Books, Beautiful Books!

Books, Beautiful Books!

Smell:

I woke up this morning in Summersville West Virginia.  Breakfast was Bountiful at the Hampton Inn. I didn’t wake up and smell the coffee – the Bacon cut right through everything else!

Wake up and smell the bacon!

Wake up and smell the bacon!

Equipment:

Guitar, sound system, sewing machine, computer.  Hmmm. No “b”s here….. How about Bobbins? This is how I keep my bobbins, not entirely neatly, but it helps.

BobbinsAnd finally: Blog

I enjoy blogging.  It’s an extension of the personal journal I’ve been keeping for the last 25 or 30 years. I like sharing my travelling experiences and new interests with everyone. I love it that some people are interested in this as well. Thank you for reading, everyone! I’ve even had comments from people that they enjoy reading the Scatterdays posts – maybe because they are so random and I guess they reveal things and relate stories that I might not otherwise tell.

Just this year I’ve started two more blogs – it’s difficult to keep them straight, sometimes.  Hard enough for me to keep this one going!!! But one is devoted to our upcoming cruise in September, so we’re talking all about the trip, the cruising experience, the classes, etc. So that I don’t have to bore anyone who isn’t at all interested in the cruise, I started a separate blog for it.  And then when I decided to offer the Block of the Month for the Star and Plume quilt, I needed another one for that!   The learning curve has been high on this one, because I needed to figure out how to make it possible for all my BoM-ers to upload their own pictures and comments on the process.  Happily, WordPress makes it easy to figure these things out.

I’m still getting used to the fact that sometimes when I meet people for the first time, they seem to know everything about me.  Obviously they have been reading my blogs and Facebook posts.  But still, it’s strange.

Star and Plume quilt

Star and Plume quilt

That’s the quilt we’re making (I’m remaking it in shades of grey – it’s my Year of Grey). And the Block of the Month Blog is here.

When I get home, I’ll be finishing up my latest Refractions quilt and looking for inspiration for the next one. And tending what’s left of my garden after the deer munched their way through it while we were up north. There will be some tomatoes and squash, but no peas or kohlrabi and I have only one remaining apple on the tree.  I’m starting to collect recipes for venison…….

Soon I’ll have the time to write the remainder of our travels north.  It really was a wonderful trip.

Till next time!

cathy

5 Responses to “Scatterdays: B”

  1. Jenni S. Says:

    I can smell the bacon and eggs from here. The Star and Plume quilt is beautiful, love all the bright colours. Enjoy the rest of your travels Kathy.

  2. Jan Rhoades Says:

    Bloody Beautiful Cathy! Hmmm, bacon and bobbins – good choices. I don’t have a blog and but I love yours. Hugs

  3. Vireya Says:

    I’m glad I don’t have to worry about deer in the garden in this Victoria.

    I’m impressed that you are keeping up with the Scatterdays challenges while you travel around.

  4. aubirdwoman Says:

    well your bobbins look more orderly than mine 🙂
    love the quite. Off to read you other blogs.

  5. Pauline Says:

    I like the odd rasher of bacon or 2/3/4! The bobbin tube looks very handy. I have found the lid types tend to open at unceremonious times. It’s wonderful to have libraries in our lives. You must see so many during your travels. Hope you are feeling comfy at home. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

