Scatterdays – U

Another two weeks has zoomed by – I thought things slowed down during the summer?

Here is our challenge for this week!

u

MAGAZINE

When John and I met I was living in Calgary and he was living in Yellowknife.  He hired the group I was singing in to come and sing with the group he was singing in (The Gumboots). We stayed at his B&B and the rest, as they say, is harmony.

People who live or have lived in the North of Canada have a special bond.  They have survived and thrived in an extreme climate, and made the best of their time there.  The friendships are lifelong and many people speak of their time in the north as the best in their lives. Yellowknife was a great community for John.

To keep in touch with what’s going on up there, he subscribes to a magazine called “Up Here“. It’s a great read, with lots of entertaining stories of the characters who live Up There. It’s even good to read if you haven’t lived there!

UH-July_August-cover

DANGEROUS

We have a fairly new Tom Tom GPS which is very helpful when you travel as much as we do.  I have learned that you actually have to program it correctly, however, for it to tell you the right directions.  If there is more than one airport in town, you have to know which one it is, or you might miss your flight……

We have friends who told us about getting different voices on the GPS, and John decided on an Australian one.  As you know, Aussie-speak is sometimes different from Canada-speak, and it’s been wonderful to hear some of the things that “Bruce” says.  Whenever we arrive where we’re going he says:

“You have reached your destination:  windows up, grab those sunnies and don’t let the seagulls steal your chips!”

Occasionally we’ll drive by where we’re going so we can hear him say:

“Chuck a U-ey, mate”.

So this is my contribution this week:  the U-turn! Only dangerous when you see a sign like this!

u-turn

YELLOW:

Yellow is such a happy colour; I love happy music, too.  The happiest  – and coolest – instrument on the planet is the UKULELE.  Isn’t it wonderful that this Mahalo soprano uke comes with its own smiley face painted on?

ukulele-smiley-face

It makes me want to start singing “U R My Sunshine”!

UFO

All quilters know that this refers to an UnFinished Object.

Quite a few years ago I made the Star and Plume quilt (I’ve mentioned it here before, and am currently doing a Block of the Month for it). I found a very cool block for it called “Beg and Borrow.

This is the block

This is the block

I designed a queen sized quilt using this block, and decided I’d make it while in hotel rooms on tour. I brought my little sewing machine, pre-printed a whole bunch of papers for piecing (it’s a paper pieced block because the angles are strange), and pulled all my orange and blue fabrics.  I could DO this!

What I didn’t factor was two things: a) most hotel rooms are totally inappropriate for intensive paper piecing. The flat surfaces are too low for cutting and ironing and you can seriously hurt your back (ask me how I know!). And b) each block takes 1 1/2 hours to make  – and after 40 or 50 of them, it’s DEAD BORING!!!!!

I’ve made all the blocks for the outside, most of the inside ones and I’ve given up. I HATE THIS QUILT! Even though I’ve spent easily 60 hours on it so far, it has not reached the point of no return (that I have to finish it because I’ve invested so much time in it). Nobody can make me finish it!!!

The pattern, and all the blocks I've made so far.

The pattern, and all the blocks I’ve made so far.

On August 17 we’ll be doing Hs: Sticky (!?!?), Breakfast, Wearable and Hiding Place.  Should be interesting!

If you’d like to see what the other Scatterdayers are coming up with, there are links on Cinzia’s blog.

6 Responses to “Scatterdays – U”

  1. Vireya Says:

    A fun “U” collection!

    Don’t try chucking a U-ey in that direction in Australia anywhere! That would be dangerous.

  2. Judy Morningstar Says:

    You have plenty of blocks made for the Star and Plume pattern- just consider them the outside ring, or border, and fill up the inside with much faster, easier pattern in coordinating fabrics. 40 or 50 paper pieced blocks is plenty- I would quit after 4 or 5!

    • singingquilter Says:

      Hi Judy – yes, I’ve considered that. I think I’m also “over” orange and blue by now! LOL My first response to the boredom factor was to double the size of the inner blocks, which I’ve done. Really, I only have a few blocks right in the centre to go. Looking for something swirly and interesting to put there…. with much lighter fabrics. One day, when I don’t have anything else to do, I suppose I’ll finish it.

  3. Pauline Says:

    Go on! Finish that quilt! Just have a break Up There every now and then and sing a tune with your yellow uke! sew some yellow into it! ….says she who is struggling to finish a kite template ‘Rose Star’ with 72 kites in every block! Never again!

  4. Jennifer Says:

    What an interesting magazine, I’m off to check it out. Neither of my ukes are yellow, nor do they have smiley faces on them, but that one is fUn……..there’s another U!

Leave a Reply

