Scatterdays – E

colorful alphabet letter - E Stock Photo - 11062687

Today’s challenge: Pantry, Frightening, Flower and Exciting Equipment

First of all – sorry everyone for missing the last one – I had it almost ready to go, but ran out of time to find the pictures.  I’ve been writing lots and lots of patterns prior to heading out on tour, so I’m ahead of the Block of the Month until next July.  I finished the last pattern today (HURRAY!), so I can get back to normal life….

So, here we go this time.

PANTRY: What’s in my pantry?

I was hoping for some EAGLE brand anything.  Nope.

Last year my friend Susan Purney-Mark went to volunteer in Haiti.  To help raise funds for the orphanage, she brought back a lot of coffee and vanilla from there to sell.  I love the ESSENCE of Vanilla!

Haitian vanilla

Haitian vanilla

FRIGHTENING

I have been working for the last year on a series of quilts that are all destined to be a part of my very first Gallery show.  I have challenged two friends – one a painter, one a potter – to join me.  We are all planning to create 10 pieces on the theme of Refractions.  Recently we’ve confirmed the gallery for the last couple of weeks of February here in Victoria. It will be at Cedar Hill Arts Centre.

And all of a sudden, it’s REAL, and it’s Frightening.

So: my scary E is for EXHIBIT

E exhibit

(Sorry this is so small – you’ll just have to come to the show from February 19 to March 5)

FLOWER:

I don’t have a lot of flowers (except for struggling roses – we didn’t get much rain this year) at home.  Several years ago we redid the front and back yards so that they would a) have no grass and b) take care of themselves. Well, it worked for the front yard anyway…..  Every year, I’m happy when the deer don’t munch the first shoots of this flower, so I get to see it now.  Here it is:  my ECHINACEA PURPURA!

012EXCITING EQUIPMENT:

Okay, this is the “quilty” one.  Exciting?  Well, Essential, anyway.  Quilters live for their rulers.  I present: EDGES!

014

Bit of a stretch, perhaps? Oh well…. I didn’t have any ELASTIC! (and that’s REALLY not exciting!)

See you next time!

6 Responses to “Scatterdays – E”

  1. Vireya Says:

    All the best for your exhibition! I’m afraid it is a bit far away for me to pop in and see it in real life.

    Love the echinacea! I might have to try and grow some of that this summer.

  2. Pauline Says:

    Welcome back! Your exhibition sounds very inviting but if we manage to go to Canada next year it won’t be til Sept so your photos will be great to see. The echinacea is a beautiful colour. Your edges remind me that I have chopped into my favourite ruler and will have to buy another. Would like to hear about your time in the NT.

  3. Jenni S. Says:

    Looking forward to seeing your exhibition photos on your blog. I haven’t grown echinacea, must give it go. I am amazed that you didn’t get much rain. I though will all the snow melting in Spring, it would have run off into the rivers and keep the grounds moist.

    • singingquilter Says:

      Spring was a long time ago. Generally on Vancouver Island we get very little rain during the summer, and we’re usually on some degree of water restrictions (we’re surrounded by water, but it’s all salty). We didn’t get any snow at all here this year, although there was some in the mountains.

  4. Jan Rhoades Says:

    Very creative Cathy. Well done. I always enjoy your efforts. They are exciting, exceptional and energetic and obviously executed with enthusiasm

Leave a Reply

