Scatterday – O

This week’s challenge: O

o

DISCARDED, WORKPLACE, ARTS AND OLD

DISCARDED:  ORDNANCE!

A couple of weeks ago there was an interesting article in our local rag: the Saanich News.  It described an interesting find in the local tip/dump: An old rocket launcher (why am I humming a Bruce Cockburn song just now…..?).   Someone actually had it on their wall. Perhaps they got married and their new wife decided it wasn’t going to go with their sofa, or perhaps the collector died, I don’t know. In any case, the conundrum was: what do you do with a decommissioned rocket launcher when it no longer fits your decor? (and I’m sure you’ve ALL asked yourselves this at least ONCE!)  Well, it’s metal and metal is recyclable, so why not send it to the dump? Here’s a link to the story:

http://www.vicnews.com/news/223149081.html

photo taken by Kyle Slavin, Saanich News staff

photo taken by Kyle Slavin, Saanich News staff

WORKPLACE: OCEAN

Yeah, yeah – most of you will think OFFICE for a workplace, and I have done my time in offices over the years (when I couldn’t keep bread on the table as a musician). But these days I have a MUCH more interesting life!!! Right now, I’m aboard the ms Eurodam (a Holland America ship). We are sailing from Quebec City to New York City with a bunch of quilters.  Today we’re in Bar Harbor Maine, and are going to be meeting local quilts at Fabricate quilt shop and then going to a lobster lunch. I am actually teaching quilting and singing a couple of concerts while we’re aboard.  That means my WORKPLACE these days is on the OCEAN!!  Life is tough. And the timing for this Scatterdays letter couldn’t be better!

ms Eurodam

ms Eurodam

ARTS: OUTSIDE

When I first moved to Calgary in 1990 I was amazed at how much art was OUTSIDE on the streets.  It was a result of lots of money from the oil and gas sector, and they decided (after they built all their tall buildings) to make the downtown more beautiful with public art. There was always a surprise around every corner.

Since then, I’ve kept my eyes open for art in the outdoors. I have taken to photographing all those huge (sometimes beautiful) outdoor icons – you know the ones, the giant koala, huge Pysanka (Easter egg), or moose that identify where you are, and what the community would like to be known for.

We were in Miami Florida in 2007, singing for the guild there.  After our show, we visited the Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden.  There was an installation of Dale Chihuly glass in the gardens that was highly recommended to us.  It was the first time I’d ever seen Chihuly glass – and what an amazing way to show it, amid all the plants and even floating on the pond! We went through the entire gardens playing “spot the Chihuly”. A few years later we found a similar exhibit at Kew Gardens in London.  I LOVE it when art moves OUTDOORS!

The Sun by Dale Chihuly

The Sun by Dale Chihuly

Chihuly boat full of glass

Chihuly boat full of glass

OLD: Oh Oh – I didn’t do this one!  I’m in a very Old part of the world just now.  How about this picture of Old Quebec City, which I saw from my stateroom window the first day of the cruise?

This is the view today from our stateroom.

This is the view today from our stateroom.

Whew! Did it! Even though I’m on a ship.  Next time, I’ll be back on dry land.

To see what the other Scatterdayers are doing, check out Cinzia’s blog.

8 Responses to “Scatterday – O”

  1. Vireya Says:

    I’m impressed that you managed to do this post while working on the ocean!

    That bit of “recycling” is quite amazing.

    Your cruise sounds wonderful. I hope you took a photo of that Fabricate shop for next Scatterday!

  2. Jan Rhoades Says:

    I saw some of those glass installations when I visited Kew Gardens. They are amazing and I couldn’t help taking photos from every angle. More than scraped in with ‘O’. Well done!

  3. Wendy Says:

    Ahhh Cathy… It’s a hard job but someone has to do it!
    Wishing you Fair winds, calm seas and gentle tides.

  4. Pauline Says:

    We are all suitably :-O with envy with your on board office and on land activities. That gun looks like a modern version of the Lewis machine gun which my great uncle Charlie carried around in WWI. Glass seas and wispy winds!

  5. Pauline Says:

    PS that glass sun reminds me of John Olsen’s mural https://www.google.com.au/search?q=john+olsen+sun+mural&client=safari&hl=en-gb&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ei=w9dGUtL_M8eQiAf_8YCYCg&ved=0CAkQ_AUoAA&biw=1024&bih=672&dpr=2#biv=i%7C7%3Bd%7CmVq2FPqq0fMFFM%3A

  6. Jenni S. Says:

    Great post Cathy. I love glass, it is such an elegant art in all shapes and forms. The ocean cruise, what a way to go to work each morning, the sunsets and sunrises must be amazing.

  7. mayflower1962 Says:

    The same Chihuly sun is currently installed in front of the Musee des Beaux Arts in Montreal. His work is stunning and beautiful and inspiring!

Leave a Reply

