Scatterdays – F

F

There aren’t many letters left to do in this interesting process.  I think this month’s letter and categories are easy!

INSECT – Fruitfly.

Those pesky little Fast Fliers show up occasionally – I think they come in on the bananas. I read recently a tip on how to get rid of them, and it works!!!  Pour a little cider vinegar In a small bowl or jar.  Add a drop or two of dish detergent.  Keep it on your counter or bench and count the Fallen Fruitflies!

fruitflies

COUNTRY – France

A few years ago we were invited to sing at European Patchwork Meeting in the Alsace area of France.  It was an intense and wonderful visit. We sang 8 shows in 4 days, and I decided I would introduce my songs in French as well as English.  I’m not bilingual, but everyone appreciated my efforts. It was the first time I really understood that it isn’t about grammar and vocabulary, but about a connection between people.  And it’s not a bad thing for people to have to prompt you for the correct word, either! (Audience participation!!! LOL)

I loved being in France – it’s a place you really can live on the wine, cheese and baguettes. I have lots of lovely pictures from our time there. Before we left, we visited lots of WWI and WWII Canadian iconic war sites, and finished on an up note – at Monet’s Garden in Giverney!

Monet's water garden in Giverney

Monet’s water garden in Giverney

SHOP – Duh… Fabric!

I do love quite a few fabric shops – I get to travel to them, and I have my favourites.  Usually, though, I don’t take pictures of them (too busy shopping!!!). Some notables are: Fabric Depot in Portland Oregon, Mary Jo’s in Gastonia NC, Rosie’s Calico Cupboard in San Diego CA, any Marden’s in Maine, G Street Fabrics in Virginia, My Sewing Room in Calgary Alberta, Grandmother’s Garden in Hamilton New Zealand, Dragonfly Fabrics in Darwin Australia, oh, I could go on and on and on.   And sometimes we get to sing IN the shops.  I must tell you: it’s very difficult for me to concentrate on what I’m doing when I’m surrounded by fabric!

In 2012 we were on tour in Wisconsin and I was invited to sing at Mill House Quilts.  It’s a lovely shop and we took pictures of our audience. ‘Twas a fun afternoon!

Mill House Quilts in Waunakee Wisconsin

Mill House Quilts in Waunakee Wisconsin

FUTURE PROJECT

I have been given a piece of Fabric by a Friend in Australia to make into a wall hanging.  She’s very much into unicorns, and Found this fabric somewhere.  She’s not so much interested in the castles and wizards, so I’ll be doing some Fussy cutting to highlight the Four unicorns. I’ll take advice on how to make this into a wall hanging for her.

F unicorn small

That’s it for me this time.  To see what the other Scatterdayers have done with this letter, check out the links on the right hand side of Cinzia’s blog.

3 Responses to “Scatterdays – F”

  1. Pauline Says:

    I really appreciate the fruit fly tip! They loiter around my compost bin so I will try you recipe. The photo of Giverney is beautiful…crystal clear & a wonderful reflection. Have missed seeing it twice now so perhaps 3rd time lucky. Popped in to your favourite Darwin shop, which has an amazing range and a steady flow of customers.

  2. Vireya Says:

    How lovely to visit Monet’s garden! I went to an exhibition of his works here in Melbourne a couple of months ago. It was wonderful to see the paintings, so I would love to visit in person.

  3. Wendy Says:

    G’day Cathy. Good luck with Fussy cutting the Fantasy Fabric for your Friend. Cheers

Leave a Reply

