Houston day two

It’s all going really well this time at Houston.  We’re seeing lots and lots of people who have the CDs already and listen to them often. Some people walking by and just saying “Hi Cathy” (as if I know who they are!!!!), and lots of others who are stopping by to chat.  There are lots of hugs going around!

I met another Cathie Miller - she won a 2nd place ribbon in hand quilting. I told her "I don't hand quilt" she said "I don't sing". There! We're even!

I met another Cathie Miller – she won a 2nd place ribbon in hand quilting. I told her “I don’t hand quilt” she said “I don’t sing”. There! We’re even!

My good friend from Victoria BC Daphne Grieg is here teaching.

My good friend from Victoria BC Daphne Greig is here teaching.

Janie Lawless and Cindy Stachelski dropped by from Virginia.  It's because of Cindy that I wrote "Buzzing at the Bee".

Janie Lawless and Cindy Stachelski dropped by from Virginia. It’s because of Cindy that I wrote “Buzzing at the Bee”.

 

And from Australia, the fabulous Judy Hall of "Punch with Judy" fame!

And from Australia, the fabulous Judy Hall of “Punch with Judy” fame! Right beside the Aussie flag!

 

I did a bit of singing (by request) at the booth - it always tends to draw a small crowd.

I did a bit of singing (by request) at the booth – it always tends to draw a crowd.

Okay – enough about the booth. At 1pm I wandered over to the Alzheimer’s Art Quilt Initiative booth to volunteer as a “Vanna” for an hour.  I’ve done this many times before; when someone buys a small quilt in aid of Alzheimer’s research, I compose a song on the spot for them and sing the quilt off into the world.  Some of these songs are okay, some are better than okay, and sometimes people weep.  This is the last year that Ami Simms will be doing this auction/sale and she has LOTS of quilts!  When I got there, there were lots of people milling around, and a tangible sense of excitement.

022 at Alzheimers Art Quilts small

It was an extra special moment because at the beginning of the day they only had just over $1,000 to go before they reached ONE MILLION DOLLARS raised for Alzheimers!!!  They reached that figure about a half hour before I arrived, and they were PUMPED! Ami Simms, her assistant Debbie and many, many volunteers made this possible. It is an amazing achievement – driven by Ami’s love and drive and enthusiasm and compassion.  I’m so happy I have been able to contribute in a small way in this.

Debbie, Ami and Kathy are celebrating!

Debbie, Ami and Kathy are celebrating!

On my way back to the booth, I passed a group of people listening to a guided tour of one of  the exhibits.  I was very surprised to see the Most Famous Kaffe Fassett with a microphone in his hand!  This picture is for my friend Wenche, who is a huge fan – Wenche, do you want me to pick up some more of his fabric for you here?  I’ve found a couple of vendors who have lots of it!

Kaffe Fassett is here, giving tours of his exhibit.

Kaffe Fassett is here, giving tours of his exhibit.

Going to bed, tired but happy.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

