Houston – day four

Where is the time going? The day just flew by, with so many people stopping by.  I did get out for a bit to do some shopping (hand-dyes, primarily), and to show some people some quilts.

I stopped by the Paper Pieces booth and brought along my little hexagon quilt called “Insanity” (1/4″ hexes), and my piece of the World’s Biggest Hexagon Quilt and they were very impressed. They were instrumental in getting hundreds of rosettes sent over for the WBHQ from the States; they had seen the pictures, but hadn’t seen the real quilt. My little piece was very exciting to them.  I also had my snowflake hexagon quilt with me, which isn’t finished yet.  It’s made from Cherrywood fabric and white Fairy Frost, and it’s going to be beautiful when it’s done.  I stopped by the Cherrywood Fabric booth (isn’t it lovely when all your favourite shops are in the same place??) and we found the exact shade for the outside border, so I’m finally going to be able to finish it. Tomorrow I’ll be looking for some crystals for some added bling for this quilt.  (There are LOTS of glue-on crystals vendors here this year, by the way. It’s pretty spectacular to walk by their booths!  One of them is right across the aisle from us, and it’s somewhat blinding….)

On the way back, I stopped at a Spanish booth called Apliquick. They had the most marvellous quilt hanging in their booth. I asked permission to photograph it – there was no pattern (very sad face!). I love this quilt!

This is a flat quilt.

This is a flat quilt.

If you’d like more information about this company and designer, they are here: http://www.apliquick.com/en/

There were lots of visitors to the booth today – notable (especially for John) was a male bonding moment with our friend Keith Holland from Adelaide Australia, who is in Houston with his extraordinarily talented quilter/artist wife Pam. We didn’t get to see Pam, but we’ll hopefully visit with them when we’re back in Australia in January.

Keith and John, the Aussie blokes.

Keith and John, the Aussie blokes.

Our booth is just around the corner from The Quilt Show, so we are seeing Ricky Tims and Alex Anderson (and their respective partners) fairly regularly.  Here’s a picture John took of Ricky doing a presentation from their booth. There was lots of interest, of course!

006 ricky tims small

I did get out of the booth to do some quick shopping today, too.  I found some yummy hand-dyes which I’ve got big plans for. So far, that’s all I’ve bought.  What restraint!

Ah there’s still tomorrow, the last day of Festival……… I’ve got some quilts to see too!

Tired but not finished yet in Houston.

Oh – I almost forgot. Ami Sims has uploaded some of the videos she took of my writing/singing songs for people who had bought quilts while I was at the Alzheimer’s booth.  Here are a couple of the best ones.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Houston – day four”

  1. Vireya Says:

    Wow, it all sounds like a wonderful experience!.

  2. Sandra Says:

    Really enjoying your posts Cathy. I was in Houston in 2010 and you are bringing back memories. From Sherwood Park, Ab.

Leave a Reply

