The party’s over

We have packed up our booth and are back in the hotel, ready to re-pack the car tomorrow morning.   It’s been a great time at the International Quilt Festival in Houston!

This morning we arrived early (part of the extra hour we gained from “falling back” in time returning to standard time) so that we could look at some of the amazing quilts in the show.  We were not disappointed.  I would be thrilled if I had made ANY of the quilts I saw today! Here are some of the ones that stopped me in my tracks (none of these are the Big Winners, either!).

Tara Faughnan's quilt called Fireworks - I love the explosion of this piece!

Tara Faughnan’s quilt called Fireworks – I love the explosion of this piece!

 

There was a whole dinner table, full of little placemat sized quilts featuring 3 dimensional food on plates.  Very creative!

There was a whole dinner table, full of little placemat- sized quilts featuring 3 dimensional food on plates. Very creative!

Three gulls on a sea wall by Jean Spring.  Can you spot the hexes?

Three gulls on a sea wall by Jean Spring. Can you spot the hexes?

 

This one's from the West Coast exhibit. It's called Monterey at Dusk by Melinda Bula.  I love the reflections.

This one’s from the West Coast exhibit. It’s called Monterey at Dusk by Melinda Bula. I love the reflections.

A part of the O Canada exhibit, including a quilt by my friend Ann Bird (second from the left).

A part of the O Canada exhibit, including a quilt by my friend Ann Bird (third from the right).

 

A "spot the hexagon" quilt called "De jurk" by Annemiek van de Boogaard.

A “spot the hexagon” quilt called “De jurk” by Annemiek van de Boogaard.

There was an exhibit of Libby Lehman quilts which was spectacular, as well as a huge Get Well card which lots of people signed over the course of the festival. Libby is progressing, but very slowly.

There was an exhibit of Libby Lehman quilts which was spectacular, as well as a huge Get Well card which lots of people signed over the course of the festival. Libby is progressing, but very slowly.

"Journey toward Notan" by Jean Freestone.  I teach a class in Notan design and am always looking for examples of it for my students. What a complex and beautiful example of it!

“Journey toward Notan” by Jean Freestone. I teach a class in Notan design and am always looking for examples of it for my students. What a complex and beautiful example of it!

My friend Jenny Bowker made this quilt "The Quiltmaker" in honour of Australia's pre-eminent quilter and quilt historian, Margaret Rolfe.  I had seen pictures of it, but never seen the quilt in person.  Beautiful!

My friend Jenny Bowker made “The Quiltmaker” in honour of Australia’s pre-eminent quilter and quilt historian, Margaret Rolfe. I had seen pictures of it, but never seen the quilt in person. Beautiful!

"Traces of Seasons Past" by Roxanne Ferguson. I love the calm simplicity of this quilt, and the single, last maple leaf clinging onto the branch and hanging off the edge of the quilt.

“Traces of Seasons Past” by Roxanne Ferguson. I love the calm simplicity of this quilt, and the single, last maple leaf clinging onto the branch and hanging off the edge of the quilt.

Zen Magpies by Helen Godden.  A beautiful inclusion of Zentangles quilting patterns in a simple quilt by my friend Helen.

Zen Magpies by Helen Godden. A beautiful inclusion of Zentangles quilting patterns in a simple quilt by my friend Helen.

 

The Japanese quilters are really dominating some of the categories at Houston. This one, Pray for the Land of Green by Masa Yanagimoto was exquisite.

The Japanese quilters are really dominating some of the categories at Houston. This one, Pray for the Land of Green by Masa Yanagimoto was exquisite.

Remember I met Cathleen Miller the other day?  This is her prizewinning hand-quilted piece.

Remember I met Cathleen Miller the other day? This is her prizewinning hand-quilted piece.

Caryl Bryer Fallert Gentry celebrates her 30th year as a quilter with this extraordinary show of 30 square quilts which she's made in the last year or two (not sure how long it took her, but she worked very quickly!!) Caryl, you can take a break now!

Caryl Bryer Fallert Gentry celebrates her 30th year as a quilter with this extraordinary show of 30 square quilts which she’s made in the last year or two (not sure how long it took her, but she worked very quickly!!) Caryl, you can take a break now!

We had a couple of notable visitors to our booth today too.

Sue Bouchard works with Eleanor Burns.  Sue is the “wife” in the YouTube video of my song “100 Ways to Hide Your stash” (which you can find on my website http://www.singingquilter.com under Videos). She told us this morning that her husband only saw that video last year (it’s almost 10 years old now!). All he could say was “Why are you in bed with Orion?”.  LOL!

Sue Bouchard on her way to class.

Sue Bouchard on her way to class.

A woman came up to the booth and said she was from Belgium.  “I was in Belgium a couple of years ago” sez I. Turns out she’s a very good friend of our friend in Lochristi, Brigitte.  Small world!

Brigitte: Danielle and I met at Houston!

Brigitte: Danielle and I met at Houston!

 

So, now that it’s over we continue on our tour.  Tomorrow night we have a concert in Baytown Texas – not a long drive at all, so we’ll have the morning to re-pack the car.  We had removed everything from it while we were at the Quilt Festival.  Now it’s time to repack everything and get back to normal.

It’s been great to talk with so many people who have been following my blog, newsletter and website over the last several days!  Thanks for all your comments and for letting me know that you’re still listening to my music.  It means so much to me to know that you are.

The journey continues….

 

 

 

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “The party’s over”

  1. quiltbat Says:

    It felt like I was at the show again! Thanks for sharing all the great photos!

  2. Sue Mobilia Says:

    It’s great to see some of your favourite quilts.

  3. Brigitte Says:

    Great you met Danielle, time to come over again and see more Belgian quilters 🙂 Thanks for sharing a glimps of the quilt show

Leave a Reply

