Ask and Ye Shall Find

I’ve been spending part of the summer here in Victoria writing up new patterns for my Star and Plume Block of the Month.  It’s getting down to some really challenging blocks now – I’ve left the really hard ones till the end – and I’m spending a lot of time working on the best way to get the accuracy I need for some of them. 

Here are three of them:

Beg and Borrow

Beg and Borrow

Crossroads

Crossroads

Courtyard

Courtyard

At least part of these blocks (if not all) has to be done using foundation piecing with freezer paper.  And it means tracing the templates (sometimes 8 times each!) onto the freezer paper. It’s tedious.

I found myself wishing for a freezer paper I could put through my inkjet printer to save me all that tracing time (not to mention that each time I trace I get sloppier about follow the lines!). I’m told that I can actually just cut a normal piece of freezer paper up to 8 1/2″ x 11″ and put it through, but I haven’t tried that yet.  My freezer paper curls a lot when I cut it, and my printer is rather picky about that sort of thing.

So I was very happy to find printable freezer paper in my local quilt shop (as well as on-line). I haven’t tried it yet, but will as soon as I get back to writing more patterns.  I think it’s going to be a huge time saver!

I’m so glad that someone else thinks like I do, and comes up with things I need before I know I need them!

How about you?  Have you ever wished for something only to find out it already exists?  Or: better – have you ever wished for something, realized it DOESN’T exist, and set about rectifying that situation?  If only I had figured this out about printable freezer paper earlier……

8 Responses to “Ask and Ye Shall Find”

  1. marymild Says:

    When I had to make 96 paper pieced patterns, I used tracing paper and did put it through my printer one piece at a time.

    Sent from my Windows Phone ________________________________

  2. Denise Says:

    Hi Kathy, this is huge. I have been trying to copy hexigons onto freezer paper but gave up after either getting accordions or having the paper stick in the print. Thanks for this tip…great news

    • singingquilter Says:

      Denise – I don’t even try to hand cut hexagons – I buy the pre-cut papers from Paper Pieces, or use my 1/2″ plastic templates from QuiltPatis. But if you want them on freezer paper, I guess this is the only way. AND you can download hexagon papers from a number of websites in the correct size. Great use for this printable freezer paper!

  3. Jennifer Says:

    Several years ago at a workshop the tutor told us to pin or staple six sheets of freezer paper together – we were making six blocks – then pin a copy of the foundation design on top, and sew on the lines through all the layers with no thread in the machine. Result: all designs identical, ready to be sewn!

  4. Jan Chis Says:

    I was amazed to find that I can get the printable freezer paper in the UK. It’s ordered and on its way to me! Looking forward to the challenge of using it when the blocks demand it.

Leave a Reply

