Approaching Paducah!

John and I are on the road again for our spring tour. We have done a few shows already, and are on track to land in Paducah tomorrow for the American Quilters Society QuiltWeek.  It’s my first time singing and teaching at the show, and I’m very excited!

We left home on April 1st and drove across Canada to Ontario to do a class in Lindsay.  Here’s what they did in the day-long class.  Beautiful work!

The Mock Mola class in Lindsay Ontario

The Mock Mola class in Lindsay Ontario

From there, we crossed the border and sang in Grand Haven Michigan (beautiful spot – would love to see it in the summer!).  We drove up to La Crosse Wisconsin the next day to attend a concert by the Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain – a group we’ve been fans of for years, thanks to their YouTube videos.

When in Rome…… or in Wisconsin, one must stop at a cheese shop, and I found some TWELVE year old cheddar there.  Very yummy (it’s almost gone now). While we were in the shop, John couldn’t resist the lure of the Cheeseheads…..

Cheesehead John

Cheesehead John

Then back to Flint Michigan to see our friend Ami Simms, and sing for her guild there.  it was a great evening – fantastic show and tell! Before the meeting started, though, I was invited outside to see a magnificent crazy quilt in the back of a car – it all felt very hush-hush, but really it was because she had shown it the month before. No photograph will ever capture the amazing chock-a-block embroidery on this quilt.  Every inch had something wonderful filling the space.

Kathleen's crazy quilt

Kathleen’s crazy quilt

It was lovely to spend time with Ami, and we did a bit of “retail therapy” in the fabric shop while I was there! While I always prefer to shop in quilt stores on our travels, it is sometime useful to pop into the big stores, and this was one of those times.  Joann Fabrics had an amazing sale:  Fat quarters for $.75 each!  I’m afraid the car is quite a bit heavier now with my purchases from that night…..

So next on our agenda is four days in Paducah Kentucky.  We have attended the show twice before, but this is the first time we’ll have sung and taught there.  I am beyond excited about it!

We start tomorrow (Tuesday) with a 10 minute demonstration of Lucy Boston hexagons at the All Star Review (1-3pm at the Eisenhower Room).

On Wednesday we’ll be at the Paper Pieces studio (formerly Caryl Bryer-Fallert-Gentry’s studio) for a “Meet and Greet” at 2pm.  It’s because of them that we’re here, and I’m excited to see how they have transformed Caryl’s masterpiece which we toured last year and made it their own.  Wednesday night I’ll be teaching a Notan Class (it was sold out in January!).

Thursday will be a big day.  At 1pm we’ll be (weather permitting) singing on the front lawn of the American Quilt Museum. This concert is sponsored by our friends at Paper Pieces and I’ll be singing my song “Paducah” from the CD “In the Heart of a Quilt” for the first time live. If the weather doesn’t cooperate, we’ll move indoors to the Museum.  That evening I teach a Mock Mola class.

Finishing off on Friday with a 2pm “Meet and Greet” at Paper Pieces again.

As a side note: I’m currently running a “Notan-a-Day” challenge on my Facebook Page. There are a few of us participating, and some of the Notans being shown are stunning.  It’s not too late to jump in with your own, or just come for a look at the work.

I’m going to try to keep you posted on the goings-on at Paducah, in case you can’t attend this year.  It’s going to be a busy time, but I hope to have a few minutes to let you know what’s happening.

2 Responses to “Approaching Paducah!”

  1. Marg Wallis, Dryden Ontario Says:

    Am so happy for you and a little envious of your being able to be in Paducah! Wait til they hear your beautiful voice- you will blow them away. I hope you do get a chance to post while there so those of us who are not able to be there can travel vicariously thru your travels.

    Have fun my friend!

    • singingquilter Says:

      Thanks Marg – we intend to have a blast! I think we’re going to be hanging around a lot of hexaholics this week, since we’re being sponsored by Paper Pieces! But I’m also teaching Mock Mola and Notan. The teacher’s meeting is tonight, so I’ll see who else is here.

Leave a Reply

