What I’ve been doing

I’ve just realized my last blog post was in June!  You must think I’m being very lax in keeping up to date with you.

In fact, I’ve been pretty busy.  John and I had a couple of weeks in Ontario, visiting family and friends, and singing at the International Plowing Match quilt show in Finch Ontario.  It was a great reception by about 100 quilters amid a lovely show.

This was the view from the stage in Finch before we sang - about 100 showed up, as I tried to keep my attention on what I was doing - it's hard to concentrate when there are so many beautiful quilts in front of me!

This was the view from the stage in Finch before we sang – about 100 showed up, as I tried to keep my attention on what I was doing – it was hard to concentrate when there were so many beautiful quilts in front of me!

While we were back in Ontario, we did a lot of summer-in-Ontario things one is meant to do:  attended a play at Stratford, saw a concert at the Festival of the Sound in Parry Sound, swam in the Ottawa River, visited Upper Canada Village and generally had a wonderful time.

I also gave away TWO quilts.  One I made for my nephew and his bride – they got married a year ago. They will soon be living back on Vancouver Island, and both asked for a quilt featuring an arbutus tree (in the US they’re called madronas). I learned a lot making this quilt and I’m very happy with how it turned out. It’s a wall hanging.

This quilt is called "Embrace".

This quilt is called “Embrace”.

We took a special side trip to Parry Sound to present the James Miller quilt (that I wrote about in the song “My Grandfather’s Brother”) to the museum there.  This is a significant historical item from Depot Harbour – now a ghost town nearby. It was made in 1905, so it’s in very delicate condition. They will take very good care of it there, and I was thrilled to hear that they plan to use it as the cornerstone of an exhibit about Depot Harbour at some point in the next 3 years!

This is the quilt, me and Nadine Hammond, the curator of the museum.

This is the quilt, me and Nadine Hammond, the curator of the museum.

Now that we’re home again, it’s all about the final approach to the Aloha Quilt Cruise with Brandy Lynn Maslowski. We embark on September 19th in Vancouver and return to Vancouver on October 4th.  That’s FIFTEEN days on board, and visits to four of the Hawaiian islands.  There are eight days of classes on this cruise, as well as opening and closing concerts/ trunk shows and show and tell opportunities. Yes, I’ll be writing a song with the non-quilters aboard as well (shhh – it’s a secret!)

These are some of the hand-dyes I've been making for one of my cruise classes.

These are some of the hand-dyes I’ve been making for one of my cruise classes.

When I return from the cruise, I’ll have one night home before John and I load the car and head out for a 7 week tour of California and Texas.  The full itinerary is on the website www.singingquilter.com.  Will we see you at some point in our travels?

4 Responses to “What I’ve been doing”

  1. Judy Anderson Says:

    No trip to Australia in the future???

  2. singingquilter Says:

    Not in the near future, Judy – but probably after we “retire”! at the end of next year!

  3. Jennifer Says:

    So – we may not see you in November when we get to the Island, what a shame!

Leave a Reply

